Log in


LEGACY                                                                      NETWORKING                                                                               RECOGNITION


A number of early chemicals were born out of the pre-World War II chemical effort produced by refineries and early chemical companies; hence the term "petrochemicals".  Notable examples include isopropyl alcohol and lube oil pour point depressants from the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey, tetraethyl lead from Ethyl Corp., ethylene from Shell Oil, and halogenated hydrocarbons from The Dow Chemical Company.

The Founders Club was established in 1981 by a group of petrochemical industry executives who led the development of the petrochemical industry, particularly in the United States, from such modest beginnings. These industry leaders participated in the establishment of the American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) previously known as NPRA which ultimately generated the International Petrochemicals Conference (IPC) as a separate identity within AFPM. The Founders Club proudly advances the legacy we inherited from these "founders" as contributing stewards of the petrochemical industry.

We look forward to advancing both the opportunities and the recognition for the petrochemical industry as well as for the individual members who have distinguished themselves over the years.

             JOIN US NOW


Members and guests are invited to The Founders Club Annual Meeting and Reunion on March 23, 2024.  The dinner will be held at The Pavilion, Hilton Palacio Del Rio, San Antonio, Texas.

6:30 PM – Registration, Cocktails and Introductions

7:30 PM – Welcome

                Dinner and Dessert


Recognition of Honoree, Karen McKee

President of ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company, Vice President of ExxonMobil Corporation 

                Recognition of New Members

10:00 PM – Adjourn

Register Below:

scroll down >>




The Petrochemical Heritage Award  was established in 1997. The award recognizes those whose contributions to public understanding are noteworthy, who have displayed significant entrepreneurship in the petrochemical profession or industry, and who have been active in philanthropic and/or communal affairs.

The award  recipient  is chosen jointly by the Founders Club, the Science History Institute (formerly the Chemical Heritage Foundation), and American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM), formerly known as NPRA

The recipient of the  The Petrochemical Heritage Award  is  the dinner honoree at The Founders Club Annual Dinner and Event. The award is traditionally presented at the  International Petrochemical Conference (IPC) hosted by the  AFPM.

Karen McKee (2024)

President of ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company and Vice President of ExxonMobil Corporation


Jim Fitterling (2023)

Chairman and CEO at Dow 

Aloke Lohia (2022)

 Founder and Group CEO at Indorama Ventures Public Company Limited (IVL),

Jim Teague (2020/2021)

 Chief Executive Officer of Enterprise Products Partners

James Chao  (2019)

Chair of the Westlake Chemical Corporation and the Westlake Chemical Partners LP Board of Directors

Albert Chao (2019)

President, CEO, and a director of Westlake Chemical Corporation, Westlake Chemical Partners LP. and Director of Suzhou Huasu Plastics Company in China Westlake Chemical Corporation


Gary K. Adams (2018)

Former president, CEO, and chairman of the board of Chemical Market Associates Inc. (CMAI).

Dave Weidman (2017)

Former CEO,  and Chairman of the Board of  Celanese, 

Chairman of the Board of the Society of Chemical Industry and of the American Chemistry Council.

Stephen D. Pryor (2016)

Former president of ExxonMobil Chemical Company 

James Gallogly (2015)

Former chief executive officer of LyondellBasell 

      Frank Popoff (2014)

Retired chairman and former chief executive officer of the Dow Chemical Company

Sir Jim Ratcliffe (2013)

 INEOS Founder and CEO

  • Marvin Schlanger (2012)
  • Raj Gupta (2011)
  • Hiromasa Yonekura (2010)
  • Mohamed Al-Mady (2009)
  • Peter Huntsman and Dave Swalm (2008)
  • Dan Duncan (2007)
  • J. Virgil Waggoner (2006)
  • T. T. Chao (2005)
  • William McMinn Jr. (2004)
  • Harold A. Sorgenti (2003)
  • Herbert E. Doan (2002)
  • Jon M. Huntsman (2001)
  • Ralph Landau (2000)
  • John R. Hall (1999)
  • John T. Files (1998)
  • Gordon Cain (1997)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software